Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

Swordfish, Sting and Snickers

leave a comment »

Just watched Swordfish on channel 4. The best part about it was the ad for snickers with Mr T in it during one of the breaks. It was great. But the film itself is a bit poo. I’ve seen it before, but watching it again, it is quite mediocre. I made a list of things that made me go “meh”;

  • Why does the Finnish hacker Axel Torvalds speak German and not Finnish to the dude the embassy sent him?
  • Why would you ever need six computer screens at one time?
  • What do all those visualisations on the computer screens mean? What are they supposed to represent?
  • If turning off the bomb jackets really was as easy as flicking a switch, why hadn’t the hostages tried it and escaped?
  • For $400m to turn into $9 billion in 15 years it has to earn 25% per annum…

Also the film is embarrassing in places because it was written before the September 11 attacks. “Someone must bring the war to them [the terrorists]” proclaims Travolta. Later he says “We will make terrorism so horrific noone would dare attack America.” Quite inappropriate considering how disastrous “bringing the war to them” actually was…

But that Mr T ad was great. It’s not on Youtube yet. I’m sure it will be shortly. When it is I’ll post about it here. In the meantime, here are some Guinness ads. Enjoy responsibly.

In other news, I watched The Sting recently. Now there is a good film. And not many PGs get away with using the words “shit” and “nigger.” I’d seen this before as well but in french, so it was nice to see it again and understand it all… People back then knew how to dress. I wish those sharp suits and spats were still in fashion. Would that not be awesome? I would in fact love to own a full dress suit; top hat and tails. I’d have a pocket watch on a gold chain and I’d wander round with my cane. I’d cut a dashing figure. It would be great…

Written by Seamus

April 21, 2007 at 11:26 pm

Posted in film, tv

Leave a Reply

