Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

The name “Ishmael” occurs 20 times during the text of Moby Dick

leave a comment »

There’s a nice factoid to start off this long overdue post. I guess this blog will start in earnest again once I start back at uni on monday. That will give me some ammunition to write about. I intended this blog to be primarily about my philosophical musings. But then of course I had a great big summer holiday with v. little philosophising going on at all.

Here is an essay I wrote last year about Hegel and the Phenomenology of Spirit. There was another essay too but that one was rejected by Helium, I think I should split it into several different essays or something. I’m pondering finding some other way to have my writing published online. I don’t know.

Anyway. So I’m back in the UK. I’ll be starting a course on the Philosophy and History of Science at Bristol University in a couple of days. I’m thinking of taking units about the history/philosophy of physics, maths and logic. Exciting stuff, no?

My bookshelf looks terribly showy at the moment, overloaded as it is with philosophy textbooks and Penguin popular classics… Must buy some trash to balance it out. My stock of DVDs that I brought over from Luxembourg is pitiful;

  • Being John Malkovich
  • Das Boot
  • Dog Soldiers
  • Identity
  • Brick
  • Dog Day Afternoon

Not much of a selection. But these films are all films I haven’t seen. So they should keep me entertained for a while…

Written by Seamus

September 29, 2007 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

