Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

A strange way to arrange your departments, and other tedious admistrative formalities

leave a comment »

I am now registered at Bristol and all that. Library card and all. I have a gym induction tomorrow morning. And a Postgraduate welcome party tomorrow evening. The only thing I have not been told about is when and where my lectures are. You’d have thought this one would be high on the list, but no… I’ve pinged off an email to the arts office asking them “Whuh?” so that should reap rewards as far as knowing what the hell I am doing goes…

So they’ve arranged the arts faculty into three schools; Arts, Humanities and Modern Languages. Philosophy and Archaeology are both in Arts. I think they both belong in Humanities. English comes under the heading of Humanities when I believe it  would be more at home in either of the other two schools… I’m particularly peeved that Philosophy is put in Arts when I will be doing courses that might have some crossover with the History department, which is in Humanities. It’s all rather oddly arranged. I appreciate the administrative/bureaucratic rationale behind splitting the Arts faculty up to make it easier to manage, but for those of us who could be considered “interdisciplinary” it could turn out to be a pain. I don’t know yet, since I haven’t been to any lectures yet or had any contact with any of the teaching staff… But from my experience studying Maths and Philosophy at Warwick, I have a vague sense of foreboding at not being firmly placed in only one school and/or department…

Written by Seamus

October 1, 2007 at 2:28 pm

Posted in annoying, university

Leave a Reply

