Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

File under “misc”

with one comment

I started writing a piece for the student paper about how crap celebrity gardeners are. But it was rubbish so I’ve put it on the back-burner for now. I would like to get into doing more stuff for the paper, the rather pompously entitled “Epigram.”

This is what I have to read for my Philosophy of Physics course. I’m finding it quite hard to extract the philosophy from it so far. I’m only about half way through though…  Maybe all the philosophically relevant stuff is at the end? Maybe?

Despite the title of my course (Philosophy and History of Science) there seems to be very little in the way of history this term. The phil. physics course is all about quantum theory and a wee bit of relativity. No classical philosophy of science at all. The phil. maths course is about contemporary issues in the philosophy of mathematics… I’m a little disappointed, but oh well. I’m sure I can read around the subject if I am interested in a particular part of the history.

I’ve decided to try and write my essays in LaTeX where appropriate. This does mean relearning how to write in LaTeX and making sure I have all the relevant programs and whatnot installed. But I’m a geek, so I’ll enjoy that kind of thing…

I bought 300 and Zodiac on DVD a couple of days ago. I watched 300 and thought it was stylishly devoid of substance. It also fails to explain the point of the battle until the very end. They were slowing up the Persians to allow the “Greek” forces to amass further down for the fight that stopped the advance of Xerxes. If that isn’t explained the whole sacrifice at Thermopylae has no meaning. Gates of Fire does a much better job of making you appreciate the battle and feels a lot more authentic. I put “Greek” in inverted commas because there was no such thing as Greece as a political or cultural entity at the time.

I also watched Brick. Once you get used to how they speak and begin actually picking up meaning in the dialogue, I thought this was a pretty good film. I will have to watch it again at some stage. My favourite line was “I’ll see you at the parents’ conference” delivered as if it was straight out of some gritty film noir. I don’t think it was supposed to be that funny…

Good lord, the amazon.co.uk website is horrifically slow at the moment. I wonder if that is due to Resnet or some other thing. I was going to link to Gates of Fire, but it’s so damn slow I can’t be bothered waiting. That’s Gates of Fire by Stephen Pressfield. Or is it Steven?

Written by Seamus

October 7, 2007 at 12:49 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wouldn’t know but I’ll guess at stephen, all the films are by a Stephen not a Steven. I personally found 300 a tad gory. And I, like you failed to see the point of the battle till they actually explained it. I did try to see what you had to read for your philosophy and History thingy, honest, but it made no sense to me I’m afraid. I usually enjoy reading things i don’t understand but I don’t like it when i don’t understand something because of a let down from my intellect. I am bright and I know it, so i like to understand things that involve thinking. I actually enjoy Sats and Cats and alll the other tests. And I like to win because I am very competitive, sorry gone off topic here. still, reading your blogs i’m not the only one who goes off topic…

    blobster818

    October 11, 2007 at 8:47 pm


Leave a Reply

