Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

If only book piracy was practical

with one comment

I’ve noticed the italics in the “resources” post doesn’t really help to distinguish the free links. I will find some other way of indicating the free ones if I ever get round to revising it.

I’ve been interested in Henry Oldenburg since reading The Courtier and the Heretic which mentions his correspondence with Leibniz. He came up again in reference to this manuscript in New Scientist and that got me thinking that this Oldenburg guy seems pretty interesting. The only book available on amazon about him was priced at £80 so I decided to drop that line of approach. I haven’t been able to find much out about him otherwise…

I’m taking a course on the history of science next term and I might look more into it then. He is mentioned in a couple of places including a John Gribbin book and something by Kuhn. So “the influence of Henry Oldenburg on late 17th century science” might well be my essay topic for that course…

Written by Seamus

October 14, 2007 at 3:08 pm

Posted in annoying, science

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 80 quid for a book??! that’s outrageous, especially as you could only find one book to look at.

    blobster818

    October 25, 2007 at 1:26 pm


Leave a Reply

