Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

Unless printing off a ton of SEP articles counts as work, I’ve done nothing today…

leave a comment »

I went to a sign language society meeting today. It was really interesting. I missed the first week, but I managed to catch up with the fingerspelling relatively quickly. We moved on to learning colours and a couple of other things. It was really cool. My favourite sign so far is the one for “philosophy.” You sort of wiggle your fingers by the side of your head.

I should, at some stage read that paper for maths on thursday. To be is to be the value of a variable. If you say so Mr. Boolos.

I’m working my way through Rome season 2. I’m enjoying it. Yes the acting is shaky, yes the dialogue is sometimes awful, yes it is quite often unnecessarily graphic in depicting sex or violence, but despite all that I think it’s fun, well made and it feels authentic. I do kind of like the characters and I do care what happens to them. That’s the important thing for me. That’s what I never had with Lost. I spent so much time going “WHAAT?” I never really warmed to any of the characters. I watched up to halfway through series two just because I want to know what was going to happen next and if it would explain anything. But I didn’t really care much about any of the characters. Locke was a hero though. I like him. I might look up Lost on wikipedia when they’ve finished it so that I know the story, but I don’t want to have to watch the dozens of hours of TV it would take to find out the whole story through watching it…

Written by Seamus

October 23, 2007 at 10:03 pm

Posted in me me me, philosophy, tv

Leave a Reply

