Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

What is a straight line?

with one comment

I’ve done that thing again where I avoid doing any real work by downloading loads of possibly useful papers. I haven’t really acheived anything or advanced my knowledge at all. Other displacement activities include updating my bibliography and printing out all the crap I download. I can quite happily waste a whole day doing that sort of stuff and not really get anywhere.

One thing I did get done today is find another possible essay topic. Well. Right now I’m not sure there’s an essay there. Basically I have found something that I am thoroughly confused about. It sounds pretty silly when you say it, but I don’t know how to think about it properly. Here it is; what is a straight line? Is it the shortest distance between two points? Then isn’t ‘straight’ dependent on how you measure distance? Then how do you measure distance without straight lines?

All rather nebulous random thoughts sort of questions at the moment. Is there an essay in that sort of area? Maybe not. But for my own piece of mind I’d like to look into it a little more at least. If only to convince myself it isn’t a problem.

Written by Seamus

November 20, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Posted in philosophy

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think there is a HUGE puzzle here. Hope you get to writing the post. I have written and drawn many lines in my life. I really think that you might want to read this post which I entitled “Radical linearism”. It deals with the lines you are investigating.

    http://amelo14.wordpress.com/2005/03/12/reflections-on-radical-linearism-some-working-ideas/

    Andrés

    amelo14

    November 21, 2007 at 3:59 pm


Leave a Reply

