Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

A cool thing. And a difficult thing.

leave a comment »

Here’s a cool thing; In Structure of Mathematics and Logic Steve Awodey shows how you can characterise logical structure in terms of a Topos. The idea of topos arose first in Algebraic geometry in the study of topological spaces. So maybe my crazy geometrical logic thing isn’t as crazy as it seems.

The trouble is is that all this stuff is really hard. So I am not really getting anywhere very fast. I’m revising how much talk of Category Theory I can realistically put into my essay. I’m revising it right down to `not very much at all.’

Tomorrow is all about reading about structuralism, which is something I hope isn’t going to turn out to be too hard to fit into my essay. Because otherwise I won’t have an essay…

Written by Seamus

December 15, 2007 at 7:25 pm

Posted in maths, philosophy

Leave a Reply

