Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

And you thought Quantum Mechanics was weird…

leave a comment »

Right, so I am part of two (count ’em TWO!) reading groups on category theory. One aiming at foundations of maths from a category theory perspective, the other trying to understand those topos foundations of physics papers (eventually).

I have got 5000 words written for one of my essays. It feels good. I’m pretty pleased with how it has turned out so far. I’m taking a break from objective probabilities in quantum physics to have a look at some second order logic, the topic of my other paper. But I thought I’d have a little breather to get down something that’s been rattling around my head for a couple of days.

So… OK, Science! Right. Sodium; Na;  group 1 metal, atomic number 11. Explodes when put in contact with water. Chlorine; Cl; a halogen gas, atomic number 17. Poisonous. Put the together and what have you got?

Salt. Table salt. Chlorine that you put in swimming pools to kill things plus sodium which blows up when put in contact with water (remeber you are 70% water…) when combined produce… a flavour enhancer. Something people are quite willing to eat?

Hydrogen; highly flammable gas. Oxygen; necessary for any combustion process. But them together and what have you got?

Water. Puts out fires. No really? Mixing the gas responsible for the hindenburg disaster with that which is needed for things to burn creates something that can put out fires? I don’t want 70% of me to be made out of something flammable that can’t decide if it’s a gas or a metal and something that makes fire possible.

Yeah science is nutty.

Written by Seamus

January 23, 2008 at 5:54 pm

Leave a Reply

