Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

If I were a casting agent…

leave a comment »

One thing we did in our house last year was discuss who we would cast as whom if certain things were made into films: Brendan Fraser was made to play Peter Perfect from Wacky Racers. And our house, being our house, always had a role for Sam Leeroy Jackson. So, I’ve been reading Titus Groan recently, and I’ve been thinking about who I would cast.

  • The obvious choice for Fuschia would be Addams family-era Christina Ricci.
  • Johnny Vegas as Swelter would make me laugh.
  • Sepulchrave, Flay and Sourdust are all too alike in my mind to cast indiviually, but you could choose from a pool of Christopher Lee, Vincent Price (circa Edward Scissorhands), Ian McKellen…
  • Prunesquallor should be played by Mark Heap like a less neurotic, more annoying version of Alan Statham from Green Wing
  • I wonder if Rupert Grint could pull off a convincing Steerpike. Or maybe Edward thingy from American History X and Terminator 2.

It’s an interesting way to amuse oneself. If you share my film-geekery and my book-nerdage. Of course, the whole thing is spoiled if the book has been made into a film. You can’t really talk about casting for Harry Potter characters or Lord of the Rings chaps without having the actual choices impinge upon your discussion.

I’m going to think about this with other books…

Written by Seamus

February 28, 2008 at 7:22 pm

Posted in books, film

Leave a Reply

