Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

There is no spoon

leave a comment »

I watched Dog Soldiers this evening. The line “There is no spoon” cracked me up. I only bought the film because it was dirt cheap and I happened to know that they filmed quite a lot of it in Luxembourg. As was An American Werewolf in Paris. I think it’s because they have real werewolves up near Esch that are cheaper to hire than all the crazy effects they’d need to put a human in a wolf suit. Ginger Snaps wasn’t filmed in Luxembourg. But then… did you see that werewolf effect? That’s what happens when you don’t go for the real thing. But yeah. Werewolves, Vampires, Trolls, Goblins… Luxembourg has real life magical folk-lore creatures for hire. They only didn’t film Lord of the Rings there because the cast didn’t actually all fit in the country at the same time.

Anyway, I digress. Dog Soldiers was diverting enough. Seeing Kevin McKidd talking all Scottish was a bit weird, since I’d normally associate him with Lucius Vorenus from that Rome show on BBC a while ago.

Hmm. The above paragraphs make it look like I’m some kind of werewolf film expert. I’m not. I’ve only seen Ginger Snaps and Dog Soldiers. Well, I’ve seen the sequels to Ginger Snaps, I think. But I might have been asleep and/or drunk at the time. Anyway. They didn’t make a big impression on me. But I haven’t actually seen An American Werewolf in Paris. I just know it was filmed near where someone I know used to live.

IMDb tells me that they’re making a sequel to Dog Soldiers. Good gravy, I bet it’s going to be terrible. Oh well. On the subject of terrible films: don’t watch Ginger Snaps. I don’t know why I ever agreed to it. It’s awful.

Written by Seamus

April 21, 2008 at 10:04 pm

Posted in film

Leave a Reply

