Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

How do you find the centre of the circle? And some miscellaneous ponderings.

with 3 comments

Given a circle, what’s the best way to find it’s centre? Is it true that the midpoint of every chord of a circle goes through the centre of that circle? How would you prove that? I’m sure it would only take a minute to show if I could be bothered (and if it is true, obviously).

I’m glad to see that none of the restrictive amendments to the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill got through the free votes over the past few days.

I just found a great way to end my essay on Galileo. It’s a shame I still need to write another 1000 words, because coming up with such a great conclusion makes me feel I’ve finished. I really am running low on stuff to say now. Essay fatigue has really set in.

Also I am physically exhausted because I went to the gym yesterday and foolishly agreed to go through my friend’s gym routine. It was a bit much for me. However, it was good to do some exercise.

8 days to go until essay deadline frees me from this niggling feeling I should be working harder. At least for a while. Until I begin to feel I should start working on my dissertation.

Written by Seamus

May 22, 2008 at 2:46 pm

Posted in maths, me me me, university

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Seamus, you foolish fool! How could you think that the midpoints of all chords of a circle pass through the midpoint? They don’t, except in the special case when they do, in which case they are called diameters. But, honestly, you knew that already.

    Stephen Morffew

    May 29, 2008 at 8:34 pm

  2. Err, I meant the perpendicular bisector of every chord passes through the centre of the circle.

    But yes. What I actually wrote is nonsense.

    Seamus

    May 29, 2008 at 9:51 pm

  3. Then, yes, they do that. Very simple way: perpendicular bisector of a chord must meet the circle at the midpoints of each of the arcs that have the same endpoints as the chord. Result follows.

    Stephen Morffew

    May 30, 2008 at 7:47 pm


Leave a Reply

