Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

How the tiniest of efforts can stop me judging you as inferior and/or murdering you

leave a comment »

Here are some grammatical pet peeves of mine. Anyone who makes these kinds of mistakes, I automatically judge to be inferior.

  • then/than
  • your/you’re
  • alot
  • less/fewer
  • “would of” and variations of it (could of, should of etc)
  • there/they’re/their

I’m not a “grammar nazi” or anything. I rarely mention peoples mistakes to them. But is it so hard to learn the difference between mass nouns and count nouns? It’s such a minor thing to learn to get these words right. I mean, these are things people always get wrong. There is no reason not to get it right… Just to show how tolerant and loving I am, here are some things that don’t bother me in the slightest

  • split infinitves
  • greengrocer’s apostrophes
  • ending sentences with prepositions
  • starting sentences with “and” or “but” etc
  • missing capital letters
  • spelling mistakes in general, unless they interfere with my understanding of the sentence

So really, I’m a pretty liberal guy and we would probably get along great. But don’t you ever forget that “a lot” is two words, or I shall hunt you down and kill you in your sleep.

Written by Seamus

July 16, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Posted in annoying

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

