Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

RIP I.J. Good

leave a comment »

I was sad to read that I.J. Good died recently. I only heard about him a couple of weeks ago. Even from the fairly academic work of his I was reading you got a sense that he was a really interesting character with a unique sense of humour. His obituary confirms that impression.

In other news, I’m desperately trying to finish various papers and so on that need doing and I’m not really progressing particularly fast. Not that that is really news. That seems to be my default status. In the coming weeks I have to finish up short papers on the following topics:

  • Frege on the definition of numbers
  • Why probability is not always the best way to represent uncertainty
  • Quantum Mechanics and Structural Realism
  • Similarity relations and the theory-world link

Interesting topics all (apart from the first one), but it’s frustrating to have all these little bits and pieces to get done when what I really want to do is get down to a Big Project like my literature review… Although the second and fourth topics at least have some bearing on the topic of the lit rev, so that’s a bonus.

Two upcoming conferences that I will be attending:

Exciting stuff, no?

Written by Seamus

April 24, 2009 at 11:41 am

Posted in philosophy, university

Leave a Reply

