Sound and Fury

Signifying nothing

Reverse LaTeX?

leave a comment »

I know LaTeX better than I know how to do accents in word or equivalent. What I’d find useful is a way to type TeX commands and have something automagically replace that command with the unicode character.

For example: I’d type \’a and it would transformify into á. That would be cool. I can’t imagine many people would use it…

I actually quite like how my phone handles it.* You hold down the letter in question and a little menu appear containing a useful symbol, and then various accents you can put on the letter. Could that be implemented on laptops? Could you hold down the “a” key until a menu of accents popped up? I think that might have more appeal than my TeX geekery idea…

____________
*Yeah. I typed this blog post on my phone. Welcome to the twenty first century, baby!

Written by Seamus

May 4, 2010 at 7:08 pm

Posted in LaTeX, linux

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

